Indonesia-Malaysia-Thailand Growth Triangle (IMT-GT)

by Yanitha
Category:   News

Regional Cooperation and Integration

The Indonesia-Malaysia-Thailand Growth Triangle (IMT-GT) subregional program aims to stimulate economic development in 32 of these three countries’ less-developed states and provinces, which are home to over 54 million people.

The IMT-GT is comprised of:The IMT-GT consists of:

14 provinces in southern Thailand: Krabi, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Narathiwat, Pattani, Phattalung, Satun, Songkhla, Trang, Yala, Chumphon, Ranong, Surat Thani, Phang Nga, and Phuket.

8 northern states of Peninsular Malaysia: Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Penang, Perak, Perlis, and Selangor; and

10 provinces of Sumatra, Indonesia: Aceh, Bangka-Belitung, Bengkulu, Jambi, Lampung, North Sumatra, Riau, Riau Islands, South Sumatra, and West Sumatra.

ADB has been involved in the IMT-GT program since its inception, and has been a Regional Development Partner since 2007. IMT-GT distinguishes itself from other regional cooperation initiatives supported by ADB in that: (i) it is a grouping of sub-national entities; (ii) the private sector participates as an equal member; (iii) it has a permanent secretariat, the Centre for IMT-GT Subregional Cooperation (CIMT) funded by its members; and (iv) it focuses on fostering not only overland trade and transport, but rather a full array of multi-modal transport links.

Source : Asian Develope Bank 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WordPress SEO fine-tune by Meta SEO Pack from Poradnik Webmastera